Book 2: Beauty Queens

18 Nov

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

Now if I was crusin the hallowed shelves of the library I probably would not pick this up. But I got a sample of Bray’s The Diviners (And on that note, you know what is very annoying when you have a book multiple books on hold, but you are number 3 on a book you really really want to read, and you see that book on the hold shelf for someone else.) and I thought I would sample another of her works while I await The Diviners. This proved to be a more movement-themed book, a “let’s have a conversation about the ideas presented in this book while we drink tea,” than I’m used to. But I did enjoy this, although it took me a while to get into the groove of enjoying it (does that make sense?) It gave me the “I am female-hear me roar” vibe. The diverse all female cast allows the reader to relate to one of them (a big yay for me to be able to place myself in the characters shoes.) All in all I may add Lib-bray to my author Lib-rary. (bad pun I’m sorry.)

My Note-ings:

-footnotes about the inside jokes yay or nay?

-transgender/lesbians/woman sexual empowerment/

“you are only as cursed as you allowed yourself to be” (pg 173) ← well doesn’t that sound like Miss Texas Taylor.

“I am straight with a minor in gay” (174) well that’s one (collegiate) way to describe it.

“they need to find a place where no one’s watching them so they can be who they really are… they were becoming. they were.” (177) don’t we all?

“sometimes the truth was a hard lonely prison of a place to be. It did not set you free” (191)

-oh my god, of course this is when the boys (pirates, or actors parading as such, no less) and lurve make it into the book. I love romance * sigh *

“desire played by it’s own rules. She wanted him to want her” (260)

“desirability was something reflected back to you”

I hope you don’t mind the quotations, they made me feel like back in school, gathering evidence for a thesis in my essay, but I liked them! So don’t look for some main point about the book, but as a view into my personalityyyyyy.

~E.

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Hardcovers and Heroines

Alison Doherty: Future YA Author and Aspiring Adult

wadingthroughbooks

Because there's no such thing as too many books- there's just not enough shelf space

Steel &Velvet

For The Love of Romance Novels

K.S Rowan

Hello, my name is K.S Rowan and I am a newly published author of two young adult books.

Apphia In Korea

The tale of one short Irish girl who moved to Korea to teach English and have super crazy adventures and maybe do other stuff too

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Crack On Paper

To all the books that have me hooked.

Hilary Makes

A doorway into my world. Sometimes an adventure.

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

freaky folk tales

A haunting we will go...

mookology.

book + movie = mook. this is mookology.

Chess?

Chess.

